Knowledge test or written test
To get a Washington State driver license, most drivers will have to pass a knowledge test of traffic safety laws.
You may not have to take a knowledge or driving test if:
- you present a valid driver license from another state
- you do not have a medical or physical condition which indicates that testing is required.
What to expect
You will take the knowledge test at a computer in a driver licensing office. There are 25 questions on the test. You must get 20 or more right to pass the test.
How to prepare
We recommend that you study the Washington Driver Guide to prepare for the test. All the questions on the test come from this guide. You may also want to review the practice test to get a sense of the types of questions on the knowledge test.
The knowledge test costs $20 each time you take it.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need to schedule a knowledge test?
No, just visit a driver licensing office to take a knowledge test. You must start your test at least 30 minutes before the office will close.
What happens after I pass the knowledge test?
After you pass the knowledge test, you should schedule an appointment to take the driving test.
What if I fail the knowledge test?
If you fail the knowledge test the first time, you can take it again in 4 hours. If you fail the test a second time, you can take it again in 1 day.